18 May

Puno’s mythical destination and tourist jewel Lake Titicaca

Lake Titicaca is the main tourist destination in Peru’s Puno region and plays a lead role in this area’s rich and varied cultural heritage.

Said attraction is the magnet for tourism in the country’s southern region. Therefore, the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Tourism (Mincetur) launched a campaign to boost the arrival of domestic and foreign tourists in this zone.

In a video posted on its official Facebook page, Mincetur highlighted the puma form of the lake, in addition to its mysticism and legends, among other elements.

Titicaca is the cradle of ancient Aymara and Andean civilization. According to a legend, Inca Empire founders Manco Capac and Mama Ocllo emerged from its waters.

It is a destination of captivating scenic beauty, enormous biodiversity, as well as cultural riches sustained by the Aymara and Quechua communities that reside in its surroundings.

Titicaca is now a privileged tourist resource distinguished with the Safe Travels Stamp and with the hierarchy 4 of world level.

Lake Titicaca holds hierarchy 4, which means the highest distinction held by tourist landmarks in the world —a distinction also granted to Machu Picchu, Nazca Lines, Colca Valley, and the Amazon River.

Similarly, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) deems Titicaca as the freshwater lake with the highest altitude in the world and the largest in South America.

Mincetur also reminded potential tourists that in 2021 it granted the international Safe Travels Stamp to the Puno-Lake Titicaca Destination. Therefore, this important area in the south of Peru is prepared to welcome national and foreign visitors.

This lake is the main resource of the Titicaca National Reserve —a protected natural area which hosts great biodiversity, supports the socioeconomic development of Puno region, and maintains the cultural traditions of communities that reside in the surroundings of the world’s highest lake.

Inside the protected natural area are the ancestral-use areas of 16 communities surrounding Lake Titicaca, with the presence of floating islands belonging to the Uros, Chulluni, and Chimu communities, also the San Pedro de Ccapi-Uros Titino community, whose members live on floating islands and dedicate part of their time to tourism activities.

The reserve has three community tourism ventures: the Uros Titino floating islands, the Chimu floating islands, and the Yanico bird watching route, which have been carrying out their work formally —supported by the administration of the protected natural area.

Source: Andina

Share post
Share post






Read More



Font Awesome Icons