11 Jan

Machu Picchu expects to receive over 1 million visitors in 2022

The Llaqta or Inca citadel of Machu Picchu expects to receive more than 1.111 million visitors this year, according to a projection from Peru’s Ministry of Culture, which noted that the current visitor capacity per day is 3,044 people. This figure includes the number of visitors to all circuits and at all times.

The current visitor capacity is in line with UNESCO recommendations and has been strictly determined based on the needs to preserve the monument declared Natural and Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

Cusco’s Decentralized Culture Directorate (DDC) reported that the Inca Llaqta of Machu Picchu received 447,800 visitors in 2021, despite the fact that it was closed in February due to COVID-19-related pandemic restrictions.

The visits in 2021 increased in percentage terms, in accordance with the biosafety measures and visitor capacity limits established by the Government.

“We continue to work hard on the care, maintenance, and conservation of Machu Picchu, despite the restrictions imposed due to the pandemic, and a pleasant visit for tourists is ensured,” said Jose Bastante, head of the Machu Picchu Archaeological Park.

The Llaqta (Inca Citadel) of Machu Picchu is one of the 60 archaeological monuments within the Historic Sanctuary or National Archaeological Park of Machu Picchu.

Historically known as the Ancient Town of the Inca named Guaynapicchu, the spot served as a political, religious, and administrative center back in the Inca era.

Its strategic location allowed territorial control in high Andean and Amazonian areas.

New Wonder of the World

On 7 July, 2007, the Inca Empire’s most representative construction was named one of the New 7 Wonders of the World along with the Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal in India, Petra city in southern Jordan, the Roman Coliseum, Christ the Redeemer in Rio, and the Maya Chichen Itza archaeological site in Mexico.

Safe Travels Stamp

In October 2020, Machu Picchu was one of the first destinations to get a ‘Safe Travels’ stamp from the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC).

Source: Andina

Share post
Share post






Read More



Font Awesome Icons