28 Apr

Peru seeks to become South America’s Leading Cultural Destination for sixth time

Peru —the five-time winner in this category— seeks to become South America’s Leading Cultural Destination 2021 at this year’s edition of the World Travel Awards.

Peru’s vast archaeological heritage, as well as its ancestral traditions and regional customs, captivate tourists and constitute the main reason for international visitors traveling to this country.

Thanks to this enormous multicultural heritage —which is highly appreciated by domestic and foreign tourists— Peru has become South America’s Leading Cultural Destination in the 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019 and 2020 editions of the World Travel Awards.

Although regional celebrations —such as religious and traditional festivities held in honor of patron saints— have been suspended in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, cultural tourism is allowed at limited capacity for visits to archaeological sites, museums, locations for performing arts, cultural centers, libraries, and art galleries.

According to the measures adopted by the Government —in force until May 9— cultural places in provinces at extreme risk level are allowed to operate at 30% capacity, while the capacity limit in provinces at very high level is 40%, and 50% in provinces at high risk level.

Additionally, a strict health protocol is enforced to enter archaeological sites, museums and other cultural places, in order to guarantee a safe visit and avoid COVID-19 contagion.

Emblematic archaeological sites

Although the Inca citadel of Machu Picchu is the most popular archaeological site in Peru —for which it became South America’s Leading Tourist Attraction in the past three editions (2018, 2019, and 2020) and has been nominated once again in 2021— there are other iconic archaeological sites that captivate visitors.

Some of these emblematic sites include Kuelap, Chan Chan, Huacas of the Sun and the Moon, Ollantaytambo, Sacsayhuaman, Pisaq, Choquequirao, Caral, Sillustani, and Chavin de Huantar.

World Travel Awards

The World Travel Awards —considered the Oscars of Tourism— were established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all key sectors of the travel, tourism, and hospitality industries.

Source: Andina

Share post
Share post






Read More



Font Awesome Icons